VegNews Daily

NYT Drink Critic Talks About the Art of Vegan Wine

While wine is a far cry from hamburgers and bacon, it still may contain trace elements of animal products that make it not vegan.

New York Times wine critic Eric Asimov educated his readers on the art of vegan wine in a recent article on the newspaper’s website. Asimov noted that the fining process of wine is where certain animal products such as egg whites or isinglass (made from fish bladders) can be introduced. While the fining materials are usually filtered out, there is usually residual isinglass or egg left in the beverage. The NYT writer also reports that vegan-approved wines usually utilize the clay-based bentonite during the fining process or they are simply listed as “unfined.” Although it can be difficult to tell whether a wine is vegan or not, according to Asimov, brands such as Ridge, Bonny Doon Vineyard, and Shinn Estate are all free of animals products and worthy of indulgence.

Vegan Cheese Company Expands to Kroger Stores

Nut-based Treeline will soon be available at 2,500 locations of the major grocery retailer nationwide.
Read More »

X Factor Judge Flips $100,000 Car to Avoid Hitting Cat

Nick Grimshaw spared a stray cat’s life by rolling his Mercedes G-Wagon while driving 15 mph.
Read More »

Feds Seek Ban on Swimming with Hawaii’s Dolphins

Spinner dolphins hunt at night, and government scientists claim tourists disrupt the marine mammals’ daytime sleep.
Read More »

Chefs Turn Veggie Scraps into Gourmet Cuisine

High-end restaurants transform unused plant parts such as stems, leaves, and innards into innovative culinary creations.
Read More »

Dairy-Free Market to Reach $35 Billion by 2024

New study reveals dairy-alternatives industry is growing rapidly due to increased global environmental, health, and ethical concerns surrounding dairy.
Read More »

This Week on VegNews TV: The secret to these delightful sweet treats is white beans! Aylin Erman shows you how to make these simple blondies.

More Videos »