Fast-food chain Taco Bell recently published “How to Eat Vegan at Taco Bell” on its website with the subtitle, “because vegans need their Taco Bell fix, too.” The restaurant debuted a vegetarian menu last October that contained 13 items, and was the first of its kind to be approved by the American Vegetarian Association. Shortly thereafter, Taco Bell created a landing page for “How to Eat Vegetarian and Meatless at Taco Bell,” and reported that the vegetarian black bean burrito was a top-seller across locations. The new vegan guide was launched because customers responded positively to Taco Bell’s initiative to promote vegetarian items, and demanded a similar guide be created for vegan options. “How to Eat Vegan at Taco Bell” features nine customized vegan menu items—such as Crunch Wrap Supreme (minus the beef, sour cream, and nacho cheese), Bean Burrito (ordered “al fresco”), and Crunchy or Soft Taco (add beans and remove beef)—and gives specific directions for how to order them in-store and online. Additionally, Taco Bell provides a comprehensive list of sides and sauces that do not contain animal products. The chain is one of many—including Pret a Manger, Hard Rock Cafe, and Subway—that are actively creating modified menus to serve customer demand for cruelty-free options.
Want more of today’s best plant-based news, recipes, and lifestyle?
Get our award-winning magazine!