VegNews.Torah

Vegan Passover Seder Options Profiled in LA Times

Without wheat, rice, corn, or beans, a vegan holiday feast may be tricky but not impossible.


Share this

Los Angeles Times recently profiled ways to maintain a plant-based diet during Passover Seder. In celebration of the beginning of Passover—the eight-day Jewish holiday commemorating the Israelites’ liberation from slavery in Egypt—Seder is a feast held on the first two nights of the holiday. However, various rules and guidelines—adherence to basic Kosher standards; the eschewing of anything chametz, or leavened foods made with barley, oats, rye, spelt, or wheat; avoiding kitniyot foods, which include seeds, rice, corn, and legumes, depending on heritage—create limitations for meal opportunities, especially when coupled with vegan sensibilities. In place of a traditional shank bone and roasted egg on the ceremonial Seder plate, the newspaper suggested a roasted beet and small avocado or boiled potato as plant-based stand-ins. “It’s important to remember that all of the items on the Seder plate are symbols—there to evoke the memory of the exodus,” Rabbi Sharon Brous of a Los Angeles-based congregation said. “I feel very comfortable that we can communicate that message without placing an actual shank bone on our Seder plate.” Paste also suggested quinoa salad, “Un-Chicken Matzah Ball Soup” by author Nava Atlas, Mayim Bialik’s miniature potato kugel recipe, and vegan coconut macaroons as acceptable fare, while Bustle rounded up 15 vegan Seder-approved recipes including cauliflower couscous, ratatouille casserole, and coconut almond ice cream.

Please support independent vegan media and get the very best in news, recipes, travel, beauty, products, and more.
Subscribe now to the world’s #1 plant-based magazine!

Subscribe