Guinness Goes Vegan at Last

The iconic Irish beer brand has removed isinglass—a fish derivative—from its filtration process making its stout fully vegan, as promised.


Irish beer brand Guinness has phased out animal products from its filtration process. The brand’s parent company Diageo confirmed that all Guinness stout sold on tap worldwide will now be vegan, with canned and bottled varieties to be vegan by the end of the year. “The brewery is delighted to confirm that this phase of the project is complete and all Guinness Draught produced in keg format at St. James’ Gate Brewery and served in pubs, bars, and restaurants around the world, is brewed without using isinglass to filter the beer,” a spokeswoman for the brand said. Guinness initially announced plans to remove isinglass—a fish bladder derivative commonly used to filter yeast from beer—in 2015 by replacing the process with a high-tech filtration system that does not rely on the use of animal products. Diageo is also the parent company of Baileys, which released a vegan certified almond milk-based beverage Almande in March.

Share this

Don't miss our Vegan Deal of the Week by signing up for our FREE VegNewsletter!

Get it here