PURIS—North America’s largest producer of pea protein—will be debuting a plant-derived alternative to gelatin for gummy candies at next month’s Supply Side West trade show in Las Vegas. The new product is made from pea starch, a derivative of PURIS’ core product, which is used to replace both animal-derived gelatin (traditionally made from animal bones) and pectin in gummies. The company’s mission in sustainability means maximizing all elements of the peas it processes, particularly their protein, fiber, and starch. “Pea starch has an interesting functionality,” PURIS President Tyler Lorenzen told NutraIngredients-USA. “We have shown that it could replace the gelatin in a gummy…now we have shown that we can replace the pectin used in gummies as well.” Earlier this year, animal agriculture feed supplier Cargill announced its venture agreement with PURIS to expand production of its pea-based protein to meet the growing demand for plant-based foods. Biotechnology company Geltor is also working to develop animal-free gelatin using a process that includes fermenting bacteria that mimics animal proteins in a yeast-based mixture.
Wedding bells! You’re going to fall in love with VeganWeddings.com — a new website from the editors of VegNews.