German candy brand Haribo Candy now offers 1-kilogram (2.2 pounds) containers of gelatin-free gummy bears at United Kingdom-based supermarket chain Tesco. While most of Haribo’s products contain non-vegan ingredients such as beeswax (which is used as a gelling agent) or beef and pork gelatin (obtained from animal skin, tendons, and cartilage, and used to give the candy “chew”), its Halal Soft Jelly Bear candy is made without those ingredients or any other animal-derived products. Instead, the candy is made from vegetable and fruit juice concentrates from lemons, oranges, strawberries, and apples, as well as black carrots, spirulina, radishes, and safflower. The fruit-flavored jelly candy comes in a tall yellow bear-shaped container.

Want more of today’s best plant-based news, recipes, and lifestyle?
Get our award-winning magazine!

Subscribe