Candy brand Jelly Belly recently launched a line of vegan gummy candy. The vegan line is available in two original and sour varieties in bags of five assorted flavors: Apple, Berry, Lemon, Orange, and Very Cherry. Typically, gummy candies are not vegan as they contain gelatin, which is made from animal-derived connective tissue. However, Jelly Belly’s new vegan gummies do not contain gelatin and are colored with ingredients from natural sources. The company is selling the new vegan gummies in 3.5-ounce bags for $2.49 and 12-packs for $27.99 on its website

In January 2021, Jelly Belly will expand the launch to Australia, where it will sell an assortment of vegan gummy candy at gas stations, select convenience stores, and Kmart.  

Are jelly beans vegan?
Jelly Belly is best known for its jelly bean candies, which are not vegan as they are made with beeswax and confectioner’s glaze (made from ground up bugs). 

Love the plant-based lifestyle as much as we do?
Get the BEST vegan recipes, travel, celebrity interviews, product picks, and so much more inside every issue of VegNews Magazine. Find out why VegNews is the world’s #1 plant-based magazine by subscribing today!

Subscribe