PCRM Honors the Healthiest Lunch Programs in the US

The pro-veganism non-profit has announced its Golden Carrot Award winner, runners-up, and honorable mention recipients for 2012.


The Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine recently announced its 2012 Golden Carrot Awards recipients. The awards, which started in 2004, honor people and groups each year that are bettering the quality of food served to children in schools. This year’s winner is Saint Paul Public Schools’ Nutrition Services Director Jean Ronnei in Minnesota. Thanks to Ronnei, deep fryers have been banned from cafeterias and students have constant access to fresh produce. The runners-up include Spartanburg District Seven of South Carolina as well as Novato Public School District and Sand Path Academy, both in California. Memphis City Schools of Tennessee, Greeneville County Schools of South Carolina, and District of Columbia Public Schools of Washington, DC were rewarded with honorable mentions.

Please support independent vegan media and get the very best in news, recipes, travel, beauty, products, and more.
Subscribe now to the world’s #1 plant-based magazine!