Guinness Beer To Be Vegan in Ireland in 2016

The Irish brewery will change its filtration system to remove fish bladders at its Dublin plant.


Share this
VegNews.Guinness

After years of campaigning from vegetarians and vegans, beer manufacturer Guinness is removing isinglass—a fish bladder-based ingredient common in the filtration process of beer and other alcohol—from its St. James’ Gate Brewery in Dublin, Ireland. This new system will be in place by late 2016, and the new vegan-friendly stout will be available soon after. In many countries, including the US, businesses are not required to label if isinglass is used in the clarification process. The Guinness stout has been popular for more than two centuries due to its smooth flavor and only 125 calories per 12-ounce serving, making it comparable to light beers. Ten million glasses of Guinness are consumed every day in more than 150 countries.