Swedish alcoholic cider brand Rekorderlig recently removed gelatin from its filtering process to make its beverages fully vegan. Founded in 1999, the company now offers semi-sweet and lightly carbonated vegan ciders in seven flavors made from European apples and pears: Spiced Hard Apple, Pear, Wild Berries, Strawberry-Lime, Mango-Raspberry, Passionfruit, and Hård Äpple. “Rekorderlig has developed a new brewing process, which allows for the removal of gelatin as a filtering agent, to cater to the current market needs and consumer trends in health, climate change, and animal well-fare,” the company said in a statement. Rekorderlig replaced gelatin—a common filtering agent made from animal body parts which is used in the production of alcoholic beverages—with Vega gel, a vegan gelatin that performs in the same way as its animal-based counterpart. The brand also changed the labels on its cans and bottles to clearly indicate that its ciders are now vegan.
Love the plant-based lifestyle as much as we do? Get the BEST vegan recipes, travel, celebrity interviews, product picks, and so much more inside every issue of VegNews Magazine. Find out why VegNews is the world’s #1 plant-based magazine by subscribing today!